Tuesday, 24 February 2009

Be wary of Caffe Nero hot chocolate...

Just read on their website - in the 'Nutritional Information' section - that Caffe Nero's hot chocolate contains dextrose derived from wheat... It weirdly says it doesn't contain gluten but I'm not sure how that can be, seeing as how gluten is IN wheat - WEIRD!

Anyway - just thought I'd post and let you know.

6 comments:

Tat said...

I think this is possible because gluten is the protein in wheat, and dextrose is the sugar/carbohydrate. Different parts of the plant. Personally, I'll take the risk - I love Caffe Nero h.c.!

Rochelle said...

The Coelieac UK site seems to say that dextrose derived from wheat is considered safe for people with coeliac disease because the processing eliminates the gluten (as with vinegar and distilled spirits), http://www.coeliac.org.uk/glutenfree_living/tools_for_choosing_safe_foods/1035.asp

sonia sin gluten said...

Un saludo.
sonia gluten Free

Jules said...

Yes gluten is the protein component and dextrose is the sugar, but I thought they were both extracted from the grain so there was a danger that the sugar could still be contaminated with the protein, although the concentration is so low that they can legally claim it's gluten free. I guess it depends how sensitive you are

Lizzie said...

Hi all,

Thanks for all the posts - I react to any kind of wheat - including distilled spirits etc so I guess I was just making people aware in case they were the same as me...! Good to know that it's OK for some Coeliacs though...

Lizzie

mstands said...

I'm sensitive to all the "safe" wheat derivatives too - as far as I'm aware, you'll be ok with the HC Milano but not the regular ones...I prefer the Milano anyway, it's total chocolate overload!